Past Releases

METZ "Automat (Sub Pop)"

Chances are you’re already a fan of the “delightfully noisy 3-piece punk band from Toronto” but even for the biggest fans of the band, the songs on Automat (Sub Pop) were hard to get ahold of. Well… hard to get along of no more these songs are (that was a surprisingly Yoda sentence of me). Non-album tracks, b-sides, rarities from over the last decade. It’s a veritable Odds & Sods! Check out the angular power of “Pure Auto.”

Purple Mountains "Purple Mountains (Drag City)"

It’s been 11 years since we’ve gotten new music from Silver Jews’ David Berman. For a bit of a catch-up on what he’s been up to, I’d highly recommend reading this Washington Post feature on him from June 3rd-unless you’re out of articles for the month. If you are, then we have the perfect way for you to see what’s what with Mr. Berman! By checking out his wildly entertaining rebirth as “Purple Mountains”! The self-titled Purple Mountains (Drag City) is everything you could possibly want from a new David Berman project.  From the xanax promo that is “That’s Just The Way That I Feel”  to one of the best songs ever written about a mom “I Loved Being My Mother’s Son.”  Mr. Berman even gives us the gift of finally ridding the world of “Margaritaville” with “Margaritas At The Mall.”  Looking for the Randy Newman replacement for the next Toy Story?  Check out the surprisingly bright and simultaneously dark “All My Happiness Is Gone”

Umberto "Helpless Spectator (Thrill Jockey)"

If you are in the market for moody, atmospheric, synth-driven tunes then look no further than the cinematic sounds of Umberto. Somewhere between Explosions In The Sky, John Carpenter, YLT’s Sounds Of Science, and Hauschka lies Helpless Spectator (Thrill Jockey). Seriously, check the album out. It sounds like all those things and more. Ok, maybe I’m projecting because those are like all my favorite musical aesthetics. But if you respond to them at all then check out the epic build of “Spontaneous Possession.”

Xenu & The Thetans "Xenu & The Thetans (Slovenly)"

Like our buds at Slovenly Records say about this new self-titled record from Mexico City’s Xenu & The Thetans “it’s not rock-it scientology here, gang. This is that primal punk rock madness that pours outta yer pores when you just wanna belt out some Germs / Bad Brains style ‘core and get nasty.” Couldn’t have said it better myself! That’s why I didn’t even bother trying. Come on! Like they said! Get nasty and check out “Amigos Muertos.”